A quick and dirty microbiology attempt

I recently felt compelled to do some microbiology work.  My goal was to make a crude growth media for microorganisms, swab my mouth for these buggers, and spell my name across a few petri dishes.

edit:  Forgive the bright spot from my lamp, it was the only way to get the letters to show.

J

Above you can see the letter “J”.  If you look to the right and bottom of the J you can see clumpy looking gunk – that is egg chunks.

I started out by boiling 300 g of sliced potatoes and 1 raw egg  in ~500 mL distilled water for 30 minutes.  Next I filtered the solution through numerous coffee filters and then filtered the solution a second time through a 0.45 micron membrane.  10 g of sucrose and 10 g of agar-agar (hardening agent) were added and stirred for ~10 minutes.  Next I sterilized the media and some glass petri dishes (~$1.50 per dish) in a pressure cooker for 25 minutes at 15 psi.  After sterilization I poured the media into the dishes and allowed them to cool and harden.

My open dishes

My open dishes

After I finished sterilizing the media I noticed the solution had clumpy-chunky junk floating all about.  I assume this was leftover egg that got through the filters, though it could also have been impurities from the agar-agar (least likely of the two).

I used a cotton swab to collect bacteria from my teeth and gums and I spelled my name (a letter per dish) across the plates using the swab.  On one plate I put nothing and on the last plate I spit into it to cover the whole thing.

e

e

I was happy to see that everything worked perfectly.  The dish with no bacterial additions had no growth.  The dish I spit into had growth all over and the dishes I wrote letters on only grew in the shape of the letter itself!0

s

s

Unfortunately condensation leaked all over the plates when I flipped them and blocked some letters from being photographed.

For future experiments I bought a “fitness multivitamin” that contains all of the amino acids and I am going to try and use it as an egg/tryptone/peptone replacement.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A quick and dirty microbiology attempt”

  1. keen101 Says:

    Hey great work! I too am very interested in doning this kind of stuff here at home. The main refrence i have is the work done by Cathal Garvey. So it’s great to see more people trying stuff out. Keep up the good work! I look forward to seeing more.

  2. Friday Internet Bull… vacation version | electro kami Says:

    […] Cheapass Science shows you how to spell your name with bacteria […]

Leave a comment