Ceiling fan centrifuge.

I needed to pellet a saline solution containing cheek cells for genomic DNA isolation but I did not have a centrifuge that could hold 50mL tubes.  The solution was to tie the centrifuge tube to my ceiling fan with shoestring.  The ceiling fan centrifuge was ghetto, scary-looking, and effective (it had 3 different speed settings!).  I made a video, check it out below.

Before using the fan I first tried to spin the shoelace (with tube) by hand – but this did not work out at all as the solution kept getting stirred.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Ceiling fan centrifuge.”

  1. Chris Cunningham Says:

    This is awesome.

  2. Jay Says:

    Oh my god, you’re a genius. I’ve seen many attempted solutions for home centrifugation, but this is best!

Leave a Reply

