My (finished) master’s project or this is why I haven’t posted much.

I finished my master’s project two weeks ago and it was accepted by the committee, and the school administration!  If anyone feels like checking it out, follow the link below.

Investigation of the role of fragile x mental retardation protein in embryonic neocortex using RNA interference.

What I did, in brief, was attempt to recreate a fragile-x-syndrome-related disease in neural stem cells by reducing fragile x mental retardation protein (FMRP) experimentally in normal mice.  I was able to get some aspects of the disease state to manifest but I did not completely recreate it.

The write-up and final touches really sucked up all my free-time (but was totally worth it).  So now I should have more time for cheapass science.

My project was supported by the California Insitute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM), California State University Sacramento, and the Noctor Lab at the UC Davis MIND Institute.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My (finished) master’s project or this is why I haven’t posted much.”

  1. gry java Says:

    My relatives every time say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    except I know I am getting know-how everyday by reading such
    fastidious content.

Leave a Reply

