Altoids tins are autoclavable

Last night I decided to autoclave (sterilization process that uses 125 C steam) the tin container that Altoids mints come in in order to see if they would survive the temperature/pressure.   The tins looked the exact same inside and outside after autoclaving.

It is not a huge surprize the tins survived – they are metal after all.  My actual intent in doing this was to use the tins as petri-dishes – which is why I needed to sterilize them in an autoclave.  But while the autoclaving of the tins went flawlessly, my media preparation failed miserably.  I tried to make some growth media with red wine, body-builder amino-acid supplements, sugar, and agar-agar (edit: FYI I boiled off most of the alcohol).  For whatever reason the media would not harden.  I will try again sometime after this week because I will be going to the TAM conference in Vegas this year!

Altoids (before)

Altoids (before)

Altoids inside (before)

Altoids inside (before)

As far as using these containers as petri-dishes goes – my only concern is the hinge.  It appears that when closed, the lid covers the hinge hole and should keep the innards sterile.  Until I get the media to harden I will not know if that is a problem or not.

Even if the tins fail to work as petri-dishes (metal could have unforeseen issues for micro-organisms), they may work out as containers for auto-claving parts or components.

Altoids (after)

Altoids (after)

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “Altoids tins are autoclavable”

  1. Muscle gain Says:

    I just like the valuable information you supply in your
    articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again right here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. bb cream what is Says:

    Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get
    a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or
    anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support
    is very much appreciated.

  3. eradicating Bed Bugs Says:

    Hello there, I discovered your website by means of Google while looking for a comparable matter, your web site got here up,
    it seems to be great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just become alert to your blog
    thru Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you continue this in future.
    Many other folks might be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  4. makeup toronto Says:

    Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  5. http://www.connectinggate.com Says:

    I visited many websites except the audio feature for audio songs existing at this website is genuinely excellent.

  6. Musclex Pro Supplements Says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from
    an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.

    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it

  7. Handbag Bags Says:

    Thanks for finally talking about >Altoids tins are autoclavable
    | Cheapass Science <Loved it!

  8. http://www.amethystdrivingschool.com Says:

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she
    maintains the idea of a user in his/her mind that how a user can know it.

    So that’s why this post is great. Thanks!

  9. best protein for muscle building Says:

    I know this site gives quality based articles or reviews and additional
    information, is there any other web site which provides these kinds of things in quality?

  10. Phoenix-Stfc.De Says:

    This piece of writing offers clear idea designed
    for the new viewers of blogging, that genuinely how to do running a blog.

  11. thewillowcenter.com Says:

    This paragraph offers clear idea designed for the new people of blogging, that actually how to do blogging and site-building.

  12. Www.Xc567.Com Says:

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone
    3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  13. diet plan for weight loss Says:

    Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the
    challenges. It was really informative. Your website is extremely helpful.

    Thank you for sharing!

  14. networking online course Says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

  15. Free Samples Says:

    I feel this is among the such a lot important information for
    me. And i’m happy studying your article. But want to commentary on some common issues,
    The website taste is wonderful, the articles is
    truly excellent : D. Excellent activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

